Martin Scorsese’s The Irishman draws 63rd BFI London Film Festival to a close




The 63rd BFI London Film Festival in partnership with American Express, closed with a star studded finale on Sunday with the International Premiere of The Irishman, which saw  legendary director Martin Scorsese reunite with  his equally legendary cast members; Robert De Niro, Al Pacino and Harvey Keitel at a spectacular gala presentation at Odeon Luxe, Leicester Square.

Audiences throughout the UK and Ireland enjoyed The Irishman’s red carpet action via satellite streaming of the closing night premiere to over 85 cinemas, followed by simultaneous preview screenings.

Over the Festival’s 12 days there were 173,284 admissions for London screenings and events, comprised of 156,761 public attendances, including the new LFF For Free programme – an increase of 6% on last year’s London public attendance. And also, an additional 16,523 press and industry attendance across the festival. Extending its offering to audiences outside of London, the Festival hosted satellite screenings at more than 100 venues around the UK & Ireland.

The 63rd edition welcomed over 868 International and British filmmakers to present their work at venues across the capital. The festival featured a diverse selection of 233 feature films from both established and emerging talent and hosted 28 World Premieres, 12 International Premieres and 32 European Premieres and welcomed a stellar line up of cast and crew for many of the films.

The Festival was widely applauded for its diversity and inclusion with 78 countries represented across short films and features and 40% of films directed or co-directed by women. Across all competitive categories, 60% were directed or co-directed by women.

This year saw the return of Odeon’s iconic flagship cinema, the newly refurbished ODEON Luxe Leicester Square. Once again the Festival’s spectacular purpose-built venue Embankment Garden Cinema was back for its 4th year, Vue West End was home to the LFF Awards and Press & Industry screenings creating a Media delegate hub in London’s Leicester Square, and the BFI Southbank hosted a new free events programme, extending the fun of the Festival.

Filmmakers in attendance included:

Abe Forsythe, Aki Omoshaybi, Alejandro Landes, Alex Gibney, Alma Har’el, Anthony Chen, Aoife O’Kelly Apolline Traoré, Armando Iannucci, Atom Egoyan, Babak Anvari, Ben Rivers, Benedict Andrews, Billie Piper, Bora Kim, Bruce Springsteen, Céline Sciamma, Christine Molloy, Ciro Guerra, Claire Oakley, Cory Finley, Craig Roberts, D R Hood, David Lawrence, David Michôd, Eva Riley, Fernando Meirelles, François Girard, François Ozon, Fyzal Boulifa, Gabriela Cowperthwaite, Gavin Hood, Gitanjali Rao, Glenn Leyburn, Halina Reijn, Hinde Boujemaa, Hong Khaou, Isabel Sandoval, James Mangold, Jan-Ole Gerster, Jayro Bustamante, Jeffrey McHale, Jérémy Clapin, Jessica Hausner, Joe Lawlor, Joe Talbot, Johnny Ma, Juliano Dornelles, Julius Onah, Kantemir Balagov, Kasi Lemmons, Kim Longinotto, Kleber Mendonça Filho, Lukas Moodysson, Małgorzata Szumowska, Manele Labidi, Marielle Heller, Martin Scorsese, Mariko Minoguchi, Mati Diop, Michael Winterbottom, Mirrah Foulkes, Nelly Ben Hayoun-Stepanian, Nicholas Kharkongor, Nick Rowland, Noah Baumbach, Phillip Youmans, Rian Johnson, Robert Eggers, Roger Michell, Sarah Gavron, Shahad Ameen, Shannon Murphy, Simon Bird, Taghi Amirani, Taika Waititi, Thom Zimny, Thomas Clay, Tom Harper, Wash Westmoreland, William Nicholson, Yaron Zilberman

Cast and Special Guests in attendance included:

Adam Driver, Adèle Haenel, Al Pacino, Alfie Allen, Alice Lowe, Alicia Vikander, Anna Paquin, Annette Bening, Anthony Welsh, Asa Butterfield, Ashley Madekwe, Ben Mendelsohn, Bronagh Gallagher, Bukky Bakray, Carice van Houten, Charles Dance, Conrad Khan, Cynthia Erivo, Dev Patel, Don Johnson, Earl Cave, Eddie Redmayne, Emily Beecham, Felicity Jones, Freddie Fox, Gwendoline Christie, Harris Dickinson, Harvey Keitel, Hugh Laurie, Imogen Poots, Jack Huston, James Blunt, James Norton, Jennifer Ehle, Joe Alwyn, Joel Edgerton, Joely Richardson, Jonathan Pryce, Katherine Langford, Keira Knightley, Kelvin Harrison Jr, Kerry Fox, Kit Connor, Kristen Stewart, Laura Dern, Lesley Manville, Lily James, Lily-Rose Depp, Lucas Hedges, Mark Rylance, Mariana Di Girolamo, Mia Wasikowska, Michael B. Jordan, Morfydd Clark, Naoki Kobayashi, Nichola Burley, Noah Jupe, Noémie Merlant, Ollie Locke, Paul Whitehouse, Penelope Wilton, Peter Capaldi, Pixie Lott, Ray Liotta, Robert De Niro, Roxanne Scrimshaw, Sally Hawkins, Sean Harris, Shia LaBeouf, Sterling K. Brown, Steve Coogan,  Tim Key, Tim Roth, Timothée Chalamet, Tom Courtenay, Wendell Pierce, Willem Dafoe


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *